PDA

View Full Version : Question from an amateur regarding SNPs?

Dibran
05-12-2017, 05:25 AM
Does LivingDNA pick up SNPs? If you belong to an undiscovered clade or SNP, would they label it or just group you in an older subclade rather than a deeper one?

AntG
05-12-2017, 07:10 AM
Someone may correct me (as I'm fairly new to this too) but this isn't an SNP discovery test, only NGS tests do that (such as FTDNA BigY or FGC Y-Elite 2.1 or Whole Genome tests). It will only pick up the known SNPs that they put on the chip to look for, and that in itself isn't all known SNPs. They've given me R-Z2534 and I know I am several known branches further down from that (R-Z2534>R-FGC5618>R-L226>FGC5660>R-ZZ31_1>R-DC28>R-FGC12295>R-FGC12290).

Dibran
05-12-2017, 02:40 PM
Someone may correct me (as I'm fairly new to this too) but this isn't an SNP discovery test, only NGS tests do that (such as FTDNA BigY or FGC Y-Elite 2.1 or Whole Genome tests). It will only pick up the known SNPs that they put on the chip to look for, and that in itself isn't all known SNPs. They've given me R-Z2534 and I know I am several known branches further down from that (R-Z2534>R-FGC5618>R-L226>FGC5660>R-ZZ31_1>R-DC28>R-FGC12295>R-FGC12290).

I see. So do you recommend ftdna big y. Y elite. Full genome or Yseq?

Amerijoe
05-12-2017, 04:09 PM
I have recently completed both BigY & Y-Elite. BigY has advantages in several areas, (value, speed and integration into FTDNA projects for comparative matches. Waiting for another sale would provide added value. Savings could then be used for additional snp testing should the need arise. Y-Elite has more coverage, but in my case I saw no notable information advantage comparing the two. Tremendous time advantage for BigY. Both will do the job. :)

AntG
05-12-2017, 05:34 PM