PDA

View Full Version : Confused with gedmatch and 23 and me results

Ace Mumtaz
06-04-2017, 02:25 PM
Sorry if I sound a bit stupid I am new to this whole ancestry thing. Anyway my 23 and me results said that I was 99% south asian and a 0. Something percent broadly European but I wasn't really satisfied with the results and wanted a more in depth anyalysis of where my southasian Results specifically were. I've uploaded my raw data to GEDmatch and have played around with the admixture tool but I am really confused to be honest with most of projects and calculators and most of them have been giving results around 50 - 70% south asian and the rest being Caucasus or some Sort of hunter gatherers. I really don't know what all this means and why the results are different. I kind of know that some calculators or projects are better for south Asians but haven't got a clue where to start So can u plz help me understand what I'm doing wrong what calculator/project I should be using and why my results are so different. Also how reliable are the results I get from here. Btw I am a Pakistani Kashmiri however my grandparents are originally from the Indian side of Kashmir.

bol_nat
06-04-2017, 04:28 PM