PDA

View Full Version : Sex and age determination of an old mineralized skeleton

mtajvidi
08-14-2017, 07:02 PM
Hello
This is my first post here on this wonderful forum.

My major is genetics but recently I happen to job-shadow at a Cultural Heritage Organization here in middle east.
For start I was given three old incomplete mineralized skeletons and my task is to determine the sex and age of the skeletons. but there's not much to look at, there's no pelvis and I only got 3 impaired skulls and very badly shaped femur's head.

I have uploaded some of the pictures here:
It doesn't allow me to send the link of the pictures!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been reading a lot about this topic recently and I'm confident that I could estimate the sex and age of an intact complete skeleton if I had one, but the only features I got here is suture marks on the skull and an impaired right head of femur and some premolar and canine teeth and some measurements of course.

That's would be very nice if you could look through the pictures and point me a feature that I could help me somehow estimate the sex and age of the skeletons better from for example the suture mark/ size of the skull/ dental attrition etc.

Here are the measurements:
Skull 1 :
Zy-zy: Bizygomatic Diameter = (47.89x2)= 95.78 mm
Interorbital Breadth= 26.71 mm
Mastoid Length= 27.63 mm

Other features that I guessed :
Zygomatic bone: narrow (female)
Tympanic plate: Smooth, Less rounded in comparison with male (prob. female)
Frontal Bone: Smooth, vertical [Prob. Female]
Glabella: Not developed [Prob. Female (2)]
Supraorbital margin: Sharp, flattened [Prob. Female (2)]
Mastoid Process: Small, Not developed [Prob. Female (2)]
Other Features: Frontal suture of the skull is completely closed and obliterated. Coronal, sagittal and lumbdoidal sutures are not observable and the occipital, parietal and temporal bones of the skull appear to be broken apart. [age estimation 15-25 yrs]

Skull 2: