PDA

View Full Version : 'Unable to post links' error



eggyolk
11-26-2017, 03:29 AM
When I'm not actually trying to post links. I am trying to post an oracle and I can't.

Feiichy
11-30-2017, 10:25 AM
Same problem here...I wonder why is it so ?

michal3141
12-01-2017, 11:40 PM
I had the very same issue when I had a smaller number of posts. I couldn't post links and I have to replace @ symbol with something else like - or just remove it. It disappeared after just few days of using anthrogenica. I am not exactly sure if this is connected to the number of posts or other factors.

dark-mysterio
03-11-2018, 08:39 PM
i have the same problems :confused:

MikeWhalen
03-11-2018, 11:41 PM
I know for sure there is a prohibition or limits for new members posting...memory has you cant link till 10 posts or some such?

I think it was mostly an anti spammer thing that got introduced when we were really getting bedeviled by bots signing up new accounts to post their sales spam

I have noticed the last several days that this site is a little slower loading when first connected, or you get a 'could not connect' when you first try but the very next attempt is no problem...I dont know if others are having this or if this is connected to the OP's post

anyway, the mods are pretty good at jumping on program errors or what not, so dont be afraid to shoot them a post or personal message to get some help if you think that is the problem.

good luck

Mike

Saetro
03-13-2018, 07:36 PM
I know for sure there is a prohibition or limits for new members posting...memory has you cant link till 10 posts or some such?

I think it was mostly an anti spammer thing that got introduced when we were really getting bedeviled by bots signing up new accounts to post their sales spam

That's the way I remember it.
Of late there have been some new accounts posted to publicize sporting events, but without the links.
What is coming through now appears to be minimal. So the system is working.

eggyolk
04-17-2018, 02:36 AM
I am unable to contribute to many threads if I can't even post results because it is seen as a 'link'.

Noa
05-24-2018, 09:54 PM
I just tried to submit my first post. I was not allowed because the error message said I'm not allowed to post links.

There were NO links in the post.

Also.....

I wanted to get a map from LukaszM but the email is "Hidden" and I'm not allowed to see it until I have 10 posts.

I tried to send a PM for the "Hidden" email. Not allowed to PM until I have 15 posts.

Posts in the "Lounge" area do not "count" towards post numbers.

This is beyond frustrating!!!!! To. Say. The. Least.

AJL
05-27-2018, 04:35 PM
It appears some hangup in the code is causing things that aren't links to appear as links. All I can suggest is to take care with typing -- for example avoid forward slashes and don't follow a period with anything other than a space, because it may look like a URL.