PDA

View Full Version : Would Pakistani Punjabis, as a whole, be genetically different from Indian Punjabis?

Censored
02-12-2018, 07:34 AM
I am not an expert on this stuff, but as I understand it, there is a gradient running from northwest to southeast on the Indian subcontinent and the people are on a cline from more Caucasoid to more aboriginal.

So, with Punjab being such a large area and the Pakistani Punjab being situated west of the Indian Punjab, there should be some natural differences, correct? On top of that, Muslim Punjabis have been much more heavily influenced by migrations from Pashtun and Baluch areas as these overwhelmingly Muslim groups melted into the local Muslim population rather than the Hindu/Sikh population of Punjab.

Now obviously, Jatts and other cross-border ethnic groups with the same ancestry are going to be similar but on the whole, is there reason to believe that Pakistani Punjabis would be more heavily western/northern leaning than their Indian counterparts?

MonkeyDLuffy
02-12-2018, 02:12 PM
So far we have found no difference in genetics of West and East Punjabis. If you are adding the possibility of Muslim punjabis mixing with pashtuns and Baluchs, you have to add the posibility of them mixing with Kami or musselis like population also.

On harappa Punjabi Sikh jatts seem to be more west shifted than their muslim counterparts. Unless someone has obvious recent baluch or Pashtun mix as in case of Khanabadoshi, your average punjabi is same both side. Although keep in mind PJL samples used in genetic calculators are from Lahore, and are even South Indian shifted than Gujaratis.

Reza
02-12-2018, 03:55 PM
Do you think Punjabis Sikhs ought to stand out autosomally?