PDA

View Full Version : What to do with raw DNA data?

to147628
07-27-2018, 09:19 PM
Hello,

This is my first time posting here, so I would like to apologize in advance if this was posted in the wrong (sub)forum.

Anyway,
I recently got my hands on the raw DNA data of one of my relatives. Sadly he passed away before being able to see the results. Since we share an Y chromosome, I'm really interested in finding out more about our general ancestry. My question is, how can I do this with the raw data in my possesion? Because of his sudden death, I don't even know the company that took the test, and it appears to be a full genome analysis (?). The data is about 4,5 GB in total, and the main file is a .vcf file named "XXXXXXXXX-DNA_XXX.genome", along with 24 .gz files and a .tbi file (picture of it here: https:// imgur. com/a/ Yyzmgtc). So what can I do from here? Are there any sites/programs I should check out? I'm not too keen on uploading the data to a third-party site due to privacy concerns, but I'm open to any suggestions. Help would be really appreciated, since I'm really at a loss here and just don't know where to start.

Thank you very much

Regards,

to147628

Vrump
07-29-2018, 08:47 AM
Gedmatch?

anglesqueville
07-29-2018, 10:10 AM
to147628, you will not be able to do anything with this file as it is, in particular with Gedmatch, or with any DoItYourself program. You have to extract the usual SNPs from the vcf file and write files in a usable format, depending on the tools that you intend to use (PLINK, EIGENSTRAT, or a text format, as 23&me or ftdna). The classical tool for the vcf is vcftools http://vcftools.sourceforge.net/index.html . The link inside your post is not readable, therefore I can only guess that the 24 .gz files you speak of are vcf files for each chromosome. I suppose also that those data are post-imputation data? Which company?

Cofgene
07-29-2018, 12:54 PM