PDA

View Full Version : Confusing results. (Also why am I indian?)

Antoninska
06-11-2019, 12:59 AM
Hi! I am new to anthropology, but after getting a DNA test I am very interested.

About GedMatch and yourdnaportal's calculators(Eurogenes, Harappa, Dodecad etc. etc. )
How ancient are they? Do they estimate my current ethnicity or what I've been up to the last 10,000 years split into large percentages?
(as I know I am Norwegian and Scottish mainly, with one Slovene grandparent and supposed Swiss ancestry)

The results I get on these calculators are honestly more interesting :p On myFTDNA I am only 12% East Europe, 2% Southeast Europe, <1% South Central Asia (means it might be noise, BUT every other calculator includes more of it) and the rest is Scandinavia (which halo where is my Scottish?)

Then on GedMatch, yourDNAportal I am additionally South-Eastern Europe, Medeterrian, Caucasian, South Asian, Volga-Ural, Balt. Honestly ALL over the place except Switzerland ofc. (also it doesn't include wildly unlikely populations, and are pretty consistent so that's why I trust the results)
On geneplazas K29 I am Most North Europe, then North Slav, 3.5 % Greek/Albanian and 1.5% Gujarati.

However, the Oracles are sometimes spot on, while other times say I am closer to Eastern European nations & Hungarian than some Scandi or Brit. And population distances vary. On Gedrosia calc. I am 0.3 away from both Bulgarian and Norwegian so that sounds a bit wack.

I also wonder why Harappa world would place 9% in Balochistan instead of together with the already high percentages it gave me from NE-Europe and Mediterranean?

This is my EU test from yourDNAportal. (I read this was the best choice)
Population Percentage
South Baltic 17.67%
East Euro 11.79%
North-Central Euro 30.87%
Atlantic 25.71%
West Med 8.53%
East Med 2.13%
West Asian 1.80%
Middle Eastern 0.00%
South Asian 1.09%
East African 0.41%