PDA

View Full Version : R-L21>R-DF13>R-DF21>R-S5488: Belgium ancestry

Menapii R-S5488
08-03-2019, 01:47 PM
Hi there, my name is Rogier Stijlen and I am from the Netherlands. Recently I have received my results through LivingDNA and apparently, I belong to haplogroup R-L21>R-DF13>R-DF21>R-S5488. My mtDNA haplogroup is T2e.

I am quite new to this research, however I got quite thrilled to find out about this website and especially this specific forum for DF21. I am eager to dive right into it and hope you guys can help me on the way. I am really interested how these groups originated, split, moved, established etc. I have found quit a lot of information on R-L21, being the Atlantic Celtic branch etc., however very little on R-DF13>R-DF21> and my specific subclade R-S5488.It would be great if you guys could share your knowledge with me on these topics.

Some background information: As I was saying, I am from the Netherlands, however from my fathers side I know we are from Belgium ancestry. My oldest known relative from my fathers side was Adam Stijl, he lived in Meerle around 1680. But as far as we know, we have been living there for many centuries. The surname Styl or Stijl or Stijlen also seems to be originated in Belgium.

Meerle is on the border of the Netherlands and Belgium, this region is part of the region where the Celtic tribe; the Menapii resided. There is actually quite a lot of Celtic DNA in Belgium, however R-L21 is only represented by about 10% of the people of Belgium and especially in the coastal areas where the Menapii have lived a couple of thousands of years ago. It could well be(not jumping to conclusions) that my ancestors lived here for thousands of years and that I am a direct descendant of this tribe.