PDA

View Full Version : How do I run Admixture Studio on a Mac?



Saba123
05-21-2020, 12:37 AM
Hey this might be a dumb question that has already been answered but is there any I can run Admixture Studio from dnagenics on a mac. It seems to say everywhere on the website it is only PC but I was curious if anyone knows a way around that.

lifeisdandy
05-25-2020, 05:20 PM
I need to know as well..:(

digital_noise
05-25-2020, 10:20 PM
I dont think there is a way unless you have a partition set up to run Windows on you Mac. Thats fairly easy, just need to drop $$ for Windows

BalkanKiwi
05-26-2020, 10:33 AM
The only real way to do it would be to install VirtualBox on your Mac, which is basically a way of running a virtual operating system, and then install a version of Windows 10 on it, and download Admixture onto the virtual Windows. Here's a tutorial on how to setup VirtualBox with Windows 10. It's pretty straight forward and legal in terms of Windows 10 accessibility (from my understanding).

https://www.howtogeek.com/657464/how-to-install-a-windows-10-virtualbox-vm-on-macos/

z000
07-21-2020, 07:48 AM
I also suggest you to run it on a Virtual Machine. In my experience it didn't run well on Linux with WINE.