PDA

View Full Version : A “Persian” Iran?: Challenging the Aryan Myth and Persian Ethnocentrism

deuterium_1
06-05-2020, 08:14 AM
Hi all

I have long had an interest in the history of Iran as I did a postgraduate degree studying it. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts on this article because there is quite a bit which I disagree with:

Aryanism was one of the most influential of these ideologies, and it identified the Indo-European language tree (which includes Sanskrit, Persian, and most European languages) as proof of a migration of an imagined Aryan nation out of India, through Persia, and into Europe. Aryanism was highly convenient for Europeans because it made sense of the Indian and Persian civilizations they were encountering through their colonial enterprises.

https://ajammc.com/2012/05/18/a-persian-iran-challenging-the-aryan-myth-and-persian-ethnocentrism/

This seems problematic as even when the article was written, archaeologists were divided into two camps regarding the origins of the Proto Indo-Europeans, a Anatolian homeland and a Pontic-Caspian steppe homeland. Lord Colin Renfrew, a chief proponent of the Anatolian hypothesis conceded that Marija Gimbutas had been correct about the Pontic-Caspian Steppe homeland hypothesis:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmv3J55bdZc

The same page posted these on social media:

Again, this seems quite problematic as Persians are partially descended from Indo-Iranians who migrated to the Iranian plateau about 1000BC-800BC, their Indo-Aryan cousins had migrated centuries before. So more distantly they probably share some ancestry with Europeans if one goes back to the Sintashta culture which was partially formed from ancestry deriving from the Corded Ware culture which did reside in Europe: