PDA

View Full Version : I-S1954

tigertank529
06-22-2020, 09:11 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Anthrogenica, just made my account today actually, and I'm interested in seeing if there is anyone with my Y-DNA haplogroup, I-S1954, with ties to Northern Ireland, particularly County Donegal. I'm assuming my great great great.... grandfather is originally from somewhere in Scotland, since my surname is Scottish. Does anyone know what the origins are for my specific haplogroup? If it's worth anything, I took a test with 23andme and got these results in January with the new chip. Also, are there any good y-dna specific tests I could take to perhaps further refine/specify my haplogroup assignment? I've read that the big genetic testing companies don't go as deep as Y-Chromosome specific tests go.

Thanks! B)

JonikW
06-22-2020, 09:46 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Anthrogenica, just made my account today actually, and I'm interested in seeing if there is anyone with my Y-DNA haplogroup, I-S1954, with ties to Northern Ireland, particularly County Donegal. I'm assuming my great great great.... grandfather is originally from somewhere in Scotland, since my surname is Scottish. Does anyone know what the origins are for my specific haplogroup? If it's worth anything, I took a test with 23andme and got these results in January with the new chip. Also, are there any good y-dna specific tests I could take to perhaps further refine/specify my haplogroup assignment? I've read that the big genetic testing companies don't go as deep as Y-Chromosome specific tests go.

Thanks! B)