PDA

View Full Version : U4a2a - Greek from Peloponnese

Markos
07-20-2020, 05:29 PM
I'm completely new to haplogroups in general. I haven't done any subclade test or anything of the sort but I'm hoping I can get at least some preliminary information on my mtDNA. The maternal side of my family has its roots in the Peloponnese, Greece.

Is this mtDNA commonly found there?

This is the information I know, from my mother's results on 23andMe:

Your maternal line stems from a branch of U called U4a. Members of U4a trace their maternal lines back to a woman who likely lived approximately 15,000 years ago in the region surrounding the Baltic Sea. Today her descendants are most common among the people of the Volga River and Ural Mountains of Russia, such as the Chuvash, Kets and Mari. It is also common among the Baltic and Finnish people of northern Europe who speak languages related to the Finno-Ugric tongues of the Volga-Ural region in western Russia. The Finno-Ugric speakers surrounding the Baltic Sea and the northwestern Siberian groups both probably originated in the same spot, just north of the Black Sea.

Markos
07-20-2020, 06:27 PM