PDA

View Full Version : Romani DNA, what type of other pops would you see?

Melissay122
07-22-2020, 04:40 PM
Input is appreciated. If Someone had Romani or Roma DNA, what would one expect to see in Eurogenes Calculators or others? I read that Romani DNA would have(aside from Balkan) Indian or South India. Taking someone who has ancestry from Romania (From 23 and me),would any of the below be a clue or more so the combo of these? What would I be looking for admixture wise? (I am still learning what to pay attention to and ignore in these calcs lol)

(From 23 and me the Greek and Balkan is still there at 90% confidence. The only Greek and Balkan my Mom scores is from Romania according to 23.)

EU TEST :

Romanian

IR
Lezgin
Armenian
Assyrian
DK
Kalash
Komi
Mandean
TR
Balochi
Bangladeshi
Belorussian
Brahui
Burusho
EE
East_Russian
Erzya
GE
Gujarati
IN
Maasai
North_Swedish
Sindhi
South_Indian

eastara
07-23-2020, 03:07 AM
There was a new Roma study based on full genome, which at last found that Roma had an early admix with Anatolian population of Armenian type. This was evident from commercial testing, but the scientists until now concentrated on the South Asian Indian admixture. However, Romanian Vlax gypsy have somewhat more European admixture compared to other Balkan Roma. West European Roma already have mostly European, sometimes only some typical Roma haplogroups still point to the actual origin.

https://academic.oup.com/mbe/article-abstract/doi/10.1093/molbev/msaa156/5863255

Recent common origin, reduced population size, and marked admixture have shaped European Roma genomes
Abstract