PDA

View Full Version : Australoid results

mirinda
07-24-2020, 07:08 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to Anthrogenica and DNA testing in general so please bear with me :-}

I'm looking for information on Aboriginal heritage DNA testing.

My mother was adopted from the Gippsland region and when she did a regular DNA test she came up as 100% European. We were surprised because she has an olive complexion but thought nothing of it.

But then we ran her DNA data through GEDmatch and discovered she has a significant amount of West Asian, Australoid and African.

We also received her adoption records and they're very minimal and her mother can't be found. Her mother wasn't baptised, confirmed and doesn't seem to exist on paper!

Because of the GEDmatch results we are wondering if my mother has Aboriginal ancestry.

Does anyone have any advice on tests I can run to determine Aboriginal heritage?

I would also be interested to test her % of Denisovan DNA.

I will post in her exact percentages when GEDmatch is up and running again.

:)

Gentleman
07-24-2020, 10:05 AM
Interesting:) 100% Euro is a surprise. Many "completely European" folks don't quite come in at 100%. Unassigned/trace/noise often pushes it down to high 90s, if nothing else. Which commercial test did she get 100% on, if I may ask?

If whichever one she tested with provided mtDNA haplogroup it's worth looking closely at - if you think it's your mother's mother that may've been (significantly) Aboriginal there's good chance it would show as very special mtDNA. Further back you go more likely that Aboriginal was from mother's side, especially right at the very beginning (those lonely convicts pretty much ensured unmixed eastern Australian Australoid DNA hard to come by).

mirinda
07-24-2020, 12:58 PM
Thank you for replying!

We tested with MyHeritage.

They don't do mtDNA Haplogroups so I am trying to figure out where to do that.