PDA

View Full Version : Sepharadim Hapologroups

Banno The Great
02-22-2021, 09:46 PM
I have been having a personal project looking for some family members on my family tree and had recently taken an autosomal test from myLivingDNA to find out that I had both E-M84 and L2a1f. My family has a oral legend of us being Sepharadim from Portugal and Malta and had settled in the Carribbean in the early 1500s, should these results be typical for a Sephardi? I am aware E-M84 appears in the Middle East, but I have heard it is more associated with Yemen and Sub-Saharan Africa. Was my family mistaken or am I jumping too quickly to conclusions?

This is my first time posting, so I would like to hear some criticism and am open to give more information.

leorcooper19
02-22-2021, 10:21 PM
Welcome to AG!

As you expected, we'll need to more information haha. Firstly, what exactly is your actual ancestry? Just mixed Caribbean? Do you mind sharing your LivingDNA results? I'd also recommend uploading to GEDmatch, from there we can see if there are any good hints of Sephardi ancestry in your autosomes.

Second, could you go into more detail with your family's oral tradition? It is something that is connected particularly with your paternal line or just vaguely on your paternal side?