PDA

View Full Version : Getting an understanding of H31a

Geolocke
03-15-2014, 11:35 PM
I'm fairly new to the Mito side of DNA testing so I have a newbie question here.

Background information:
I had my father tested FMS last year and uploaded his results to Mitosearch.
He is mt hg H31a and has:
8 HVR-I differences from RSRS (1 of which is an extra mutation)
8 HVR-II differences from RSRS (4 of which are extra mutations)
34 CR differences from RSRS (1 of which is an extra mutation)

As for matches he has:
0 matches at GD=0
23 matches at GD=1
10 matches at GD=2
6 matches at GD=3

Until recently I was working strictly from a genealogical viewpoint, under the impression that any mito match with a GD other than 0 is not a match (in the genealogical timeframe). But lately I have begun educating myself on the SNP side of the tests, looking more at the deeper ancestry of things.

I haven't seen any threads about H31a on this board (unless I missed them) so my question is, "If I want to understand the deeper meaning of my father's FMS, what should I look at first; differences from RSRS, extra mutations, both, neither, or the location of the nearest pub?"

Thanks.

soulblighter
03-15-2014, 11:50 PM
I'm fairly new to the Mito side of DNA testing so I have a newbie question here.

Background information:
I had my father tested FMS last year and uploaded his results to Mitosearch.
He is mt hg H31a and has:
8 HVR-I differences from RSRS (1 of which is an extra mutation)
8 HVR-II differences from RSRS (4 of which are extra mutations)
34 CR differences from RSRS (1 of which is an extra mutation)

As for matches he has:
0 matches at GD=0
23 matches at GD=1
10 matches at GD=2
6 matches at GD=3