PDA

View Full Version : M269 - Question on recommended snaps

Stolfi
04-22-2021, 03:25 PM
I'm very new to this and just received my Y-DNA results from FamilyTreeDNA. I am managing my cousin's kit as he is a direct male on my mother's paternal side. Our earliest known relative is Henry Cook who was in Salem, Massachusetts back in the 1640's. The predicted Haplogroup is R-M269, but is it recommended to purchase these downstream "snaps" and, if so, would I purchase the R-L23, the R-PF7562 or R-FGC31923? Thanks in advance for any help/info!

MacUalraig
04-22-2021, 04:48 PM
I'm very new to this and just received my Y-DNA results from FamilyTreeDNA. I am managing my cousin's kit as he is a direct male on my mother's paternal side. Our earliest known relative is Henry Cook who was in Salem, Massachusetts back in the 1640's. The predicted Haplogroup is R-M269, but is it recommended to purchase these downstream "snaps" and, if so, would I purchase the R-L23, the R-PF7562 or R-FGC31923? Thanks in advance for any help/info!

Definitely don't buy high level SNPs just below your current predicted haplogroup. The SNP tree is enormous in depth and the costs would spiral out of control quickly. Your choices if you want to find your exact 'terminal' SNP are either to get a haplogroup panel/pack or do a sequencing test. Have a think about what you want to know and how much its worth as both these options will still run into 100s of dollars.

RobertCasey
04-22-2021, 05:13 PM