PDA

View Full Version : The Spread of culture - By trade or population movement

mcg11
08-24-2014, 03:01 PM
There appears to be a strong feeling on many of these threads that culture (pottery, burial technique, new weapons) spread by population movement? An equally valid approach may be that Trade between cultures caused the spread of technology, rather than population displacement? I'm thinking of the period of time in Western Europe between 4K BC and 1K BC particularly. The climate was benign during this period and either could have spread cultural advantages to the West.

Generalissimo
08-24-2014, 03:21 PM
There appears to be a strong feeling on many of these threads that culture (pottery, burial technique, new weapons) spread by population movement? An equally valid approach may be that Trade between cultures caused the spread of technology, rather than population displacement? I'm thinking of the period of time in Western Europe between 4K BC and 1K BC particularly. The climate was benign during this period and either could have spread cultural advantages to the West.

There wasn't a complete population turnover in Western Europe during the period from 4K to 1K BC. But there was a massive movement there from the east, which shows up in all modern analyses especially those with ancient DNA from just before Copper Age.

For instance, when and where did the French get 44% Eastern European admixture from?

http://imageshack.com/a/img746/3434/yyQlpx.png

Source (http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0105090)

And why can many Western Europeans be modeled as a mixture of a TRB farmer from late Neolithic Sweden and Karitiana Indians from the Amazon?

Link (http://eurogenes.blogspot.com.au/2014/07/the-gokhem2-factor.html)

That's not to say Amazon Indians invaded Western Europe after the Neolithic. But someone did with the genetic component that they carry.