PDA

View Full Version : how does someone make an admixture calculator?



crossover
02-10-2016, 07:21 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right thread, but i'm curious how people make calculators such as mdlp, eurogenes,puntdnal etc.? maybe someday i'd like to make a program of my own. I'd like to learn how to make a more accurate calculator with less noise. Here's some possible categories i would possibly include in a calculator:
brittish isles
scandinavia/northern europe
western europe
southern europe
jewish diaspora(this will include other jewish populations besides askenazi)
Amazighs
non-Amazighs north african
west african
east african
bantu
south african
non-jewish levant
arabic
other middle eastern/west asian(that's not arabic, jewish, or levant region)
south asian(may or may not include roma in this, if not roma may be a seperate category)
north-central asian
east asian
pacific islanders(oceania)
north amerindian
uto-aztecan
other mesoamerican
south amerindian
ancient eurasian

Kaido
02-10-2016, 10:59 PM
http://dodecad.blogspot.co.uk/2011/08/how-to-make-your-own-calculator-for.html

Found this, it's from 2011 though.

crossover
02-28-2016, 09:55 PM
http://dodecad.blogspot.co.uk/2011/08/how-to-make-your-own-calculator-for.html

Found this, it's from 2011 though.

i'll check it out.
edit:that guide doesn't tell you how it assigns dna segments as belonging to a particular ethnicity

crossover
03-20-2016, 02:43 AM
sorry for double posting but i realize that you need to make calcaculator files using a program called admxiture, but unfortunately, it only works on linux and i have windows.

BalkanKiwi
03-20-2016, 10:27 PM
sorry for double posting but i realize that you need to make calcaculator files using a program called admxiture, but unfortunately, it only works on linux and i have windows.

You can download VirtualBox to run Linux on Windows.

https://www.virtualbox.org/

crossover
03-21-2016, 05:31 PM
You can download VirtualBox to run Linux on Windows.

https://www.virtualbox.org/
what's the ram, required amount of processesors etc. required on a computer in order to run virtual box?

plus how would one add dna kits to the refence samples besides those found on the 1000 genomes and hapmap .bed files.

BalkanKiwi
03-22-2016, 09:31 AM
what's the ram, required amount of processesors etc. required on a computer in order to run virtual box?

plus how would one add dna kits to the refence samples besides those found on the 1000 genomes and hapmap .bed files.

If you have a computer that isn't more than 9 years old you should be able to run it fine. Someone more knowledgeable than me will have to answer your second question.

crossover
03-25-2016, 03:07 AM
If you have a computer that isn't more than 9 years old you should be able to run it fine. Someone more knowledgeable than me will have to answer your second question.

i'm having issues running linux on there. i have no clue how to get the program running either

shazou
08-17-2017, 03:08 AM
I tried it once and there were many steps involved in the process...

http://manglalayag.blogspot.com/2013/07/procedure-to-check-your-east-asian.html