PDA

View Full Version : Extremely disappointed in my dad's Geno 2.0 NG results.

wombatofthenorth
04-09-2016, 08:47 PM
I can't believe it, but for all of their talk about having added so many new mtDNA and Y-DNA haplogroup SNP tests, supposedly bringing it to fully up to date mtDNA and getting close to current complete Y-SNP results instead my dad's results came back less detailed than his old test from them!! Not only did they not test more SNPs for him, they tested less!!!!!!!!!!

They haven't updated anything at all either.

He actually was provided more general results and even less maps and background info than he had been with the old test!

leo76
04-09-2016, 08:59 PM
Disappointing, true. Sorry to hear that!

But Devil's Advocate: Part of science is sometimes realizing that, "Oh man, we overstated things before. Now that we have more data, we have to walk things back and be a bit more general." I'm not an expert, but the more I hear, the more I think this has happened with Next Gen. For example it could be that a particular set of SNPs that they previously thought indicated certain regional ancestry associations, now seem not to support that hypothesis. So instead of being more precise, they've actually had to rework things in that case to be more broad, based on where the data led them. This is just a hypothetical, but it sometimes happens in science. And this is an example of GOOD science, not bad.

But again, just hypothetical Devil's Advocate.

wombatofthenorth
04-09-2016, 09:18 PM
I don't think so, since, for instance, not just the older test but also 23 and James Lick mtDNA tool gives me more detail than the new test. He went from V3 to just V. One would have hoped instead it would have gone from V3 to say V3c or something, if not more.
And the Y result is just the same or less than all the old tests gave.

wombatofthenorth
04-09-2016, 09:19 PM