PDA

View Full Version : SNP retest ?



Claxon
04-29-2013, 01:48 PM
I usually send an e mail to FtDNA for queries, but this seems to be getting more difficult.
As I have tested positive for PF4363, and FtDNA is NOT updating me from u-152*, AND they are offering a PF4363 test for $39, should I pay the money to get the obvious accomplished ?

FtDNA e mails seem lost in reams of FAQ, and " comments for problems only, no response will be made ".
Thanks
Rc

lgmayka
04-29-2013, 01:53 PM
I don't understand your question. Are you saying that:
- Your Geno 2.0 results include PF4363+
- You transferred your Geno 2.0 results to your FTDNA account
- Your FTDNA account now shows your PF4363+
- Your FTDNA account still shows your official haplogroup as R-U152.

That's normal. FTDNA only rarely updates its official haplotree.

Solothurn
04-29-2013, 02:25 PM
Does FTDNA show your PF4363+ status?




I usually send an e mail to FtDNA for queries, but this seems to be getting more difficult.
As I have tested positive for PF4363, and FtDNA is NOT updating me from u-152*, AND they are offering a PF4363 test for $39, should I pay the money to get the obvious accomplished ?

FtDNA e mails seem lost in reams of FAQ, and " comments for problems only, no response will be made ".
Thanks
Rc

R.Rocca
04-29-2013, 03:09 PM
The answer is 'no', do not re-test. FTDNA only changes their haplogroups every 4 or 5 years. If they changed it every time a new branch showed up, it would be a nightmare to manage.

Claxon
04-29-2013, 03:51 PM
Ok, thanks all. Understand Haplotree situation now.