PDA

View Full Version : Epigenetics - Can we inherit "memories"?

JohnHowellsTyrfro
10-11-2016, 06:25 AM
I was having an Internet discussion with a friend about a tendency towards aggression in dogs, is it due to experiences or are genetic factors involved which can be passed on through poor breeding practices?
I had vaguely heard about the ability to inherit memories and she mentioned it in relation to dog aggression, possibly memory experiences being passed on to subsequent generations of dogs, but it applies more widely of course.

http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Frealclearscience.com%2Fvideo% 2F2015%2F11%2F19%2Fepigenetics_why_inheritance_is_ weirder_than_we_thought.html&h=MAQEAlHtZ&s=1

10-11-2016, 08:58 AM
Interesting idea, could this drive the theory of Evolution?

palamede
10-11-2016, 11:42 AM
I have no special knowledge about the subject but cannot prevent me from giving an opinion, specially in a sub-forum with weak activity.

In the animal aggressivity, there are a lot of balanced factors specific to each species and a few according to the natural and domestic races, and there are a lot of interference between factors.
The factors are
- genetic which are normally transmitted inchanged thru the generation except rare mutations. the same control allele could have different effects according to the other factors.
- environmental, the most important in the life duration are those of the pregancy and first enfance. But present factors have also a great role by activating memories and gene activating and controlling factors
- epigenetic : there is no memory in the meaning of the nervous memory, but methylisation and demethylisation of loci which influence the activation and the control of the genes.

Definition wiki of epigenetics