PDA

View Full Version : Learning Celtic languages

Erik
12-23-2016, 03:39 PM
I'm a frequent user of the language learning tool Duolingo (it's free, check it out). I usually use it to learn new Hebrew words and brush up on my French and Swedish skills.

Last night I wanted to try something different, so I started learning Irish. It was so difficult that I wanted to quit halfway through the first lesson, but I managed to make my way to the second level. B) I told myself that Celtic languages were nearly impossible and not worth learning.

Fast forward a little less than an hour later and I'm learning Welsh. :biggrin1: I found it much less difficult and since I saw some similarities with English, that really spoke to my historical linguistics obsession. I only made it to level 2 on Welsh as well but I feel compelled to continue learning it since I enjoyed it so much. I'm happy I didn't listen to my frustrations after the Irish lesson or else I never would have discovered Welsh. I doubt I'll continue much with Welsh since I don't really have much use for it (no ancestral connection with Wales either) and have other priorities (Hebrew). It's still a fun language from what I gather and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested.

Anyone else have experience learning Celtic languages?

jbarry6899
12-23-2016, 04:29 PM
I used Rosetta Stone to study Irish and have a distant cousin in Ireland with whom I occasionally correspond in irish and I have some dual language books of poetry and folklore. Unfortunately, there are no Irish speakers in the area where I live so it's a struggle to keep up. I find consonant modification rules particularly challenging.

Erik
12-23-2016, 04:36 PM