PDA

View Full Version : Help identifying my paternal line's origin (Epperson)

Alpine Hominin
05-27-2013, 11:47 PM
Hello,

I've been researching my paternal line for about 5 years. After running into a few obstacles in paper genealogy I got involved in Genetic Genealogy. To date I've had a 37 marker test and a Deep Clade Test (Both through FTDNA). My results returned R1b-L2, and I have no matches at 37 markers. My 2 matches at 25 markers no longer match at 37 (Both have tested to at least 67). This did show me that I'm not part of the majority E1b Epperson family from St Peters Parish, Virginia. A few other Eppersons have come back R1b but none of us match. Most Eppersons give an origin story of French or British roots.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~kygenweb/kybiog/jessamine/epperson.ww.txt

That link is a genealogy of my paternal line to Richard Epperson born 1772 in Bedford Virginia (Through William the subject, my Great Great Great Grandfather). Our family is sometimes recorded as Apperson. I found through various marriage records (And a connection through his brother in law David Spencer) that Richards father was Littleberry Epperson/Apperson. A littleberry Epperson was taken from his father William that fits time/place wise but I have not confirmed the link (Through King Williams Parish, a Huguenot congregation).

The most common stories are:

1. It's a place-name for Epperstone in Nottinghamshire, England. The town is recorded in its history as Epperson sometimes as well, the earliest Epperson records (Early 1600's) are from the nearby Parishes (Epperstone itself, Grantham).
2. It's French. There is a story about Jean-Louis de la valette d'Epernon as an origin for the family but it has been disproved independently by various researchers (Myself included). It could be a Huguenot line like suggested by the Manakintowne Huguenot Society, but the Duke link is fantasy.