Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Scandinavian in results - confused.

Scandinavian in results - confused.

Firstly, I'd like to apologise if I'm asking a silly question. I'm new to researching my ancestry, and I'm still learning a lot of new things.

--

I have a small percentage of Scandinavian in my results (1.9%) and I'm wondering how legitimate it is.

My results have come back pretty accurately, but this Scandinavian result has come out of the blue. I emailed Living DNA and they said anything below 2% can be classed as statistical noise, which sounds a bit vague.

I've seen a few tests results from others who used Living DNA, and I've again seen other instances where a tiny fragment of Scandinavian has been picked up. I saw another user who had 1.5% Scandinavian and about 95% British.

I guess my question is, is this likely to be legitimately Scandinavian? If not, any ideas as to where this may have come from? Of course it could be British DNA that they can't quite match, but I'm assuming it's not British DNA since they have picked up a massive amount for me and seems unlikely they'd be unable to pinpoint that final 1.9%

If it's relevant, my results updated recently and got more accurate to what I know to be fact. With regards to the Scandinavian in this aspect, it rose from 1.7% to 1.9%, so I'm not sure what to make of it.

In standard and cautious mode, it disappears to Europe unassigned. I only see the Scandinavian in complete mode.

Any clues?

Thank you.
    Last edited by CuriousAboutStuff; 07-01-2017 at 12:22 AM.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Nationality
    British
    Y-DNA (P)
    P312>BY20474>BY36125
    mtDNA (M)
    V15a

England Ireland East Anglia Cornwall
    Would you be able to share the Haplogroups they assigned you to? That might help give an idea as to how legitimate the Scandinavian result is.
    Living DNA Test Results: Hidden Content
    Gedmatch kit: T185767
    Gedmatch Genesis beta kit: LD2584831

Error

Error