Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Paternal Haplogroup Question

Registered Users
    Sex
    Omitted
    Batroun(Bitron, Bortrys, Petronis, Beit Truna)
    Ethnicity
    Phoenician-Canaanite

United States of America Lebanon Phoenicia

Paternal Haplogroup Question

Hello all, I am relatively new to this world of yours. Being very interested in History and populations I ended up here on this forum. I tried researching on how Paternal Haplogroups are assigned and grasped a decent understanding of it. My question however is if someone is assigned say J-m267( correct me if I am wrong is the typical Arabian peninsula marker), does that mean they are mostly of an Arab origin? What if on GedMatch the Red Sea/Arabia admixture is only 9%. Forgive me for my lack of knowledge

Thanks
    Last edited by Batroun; 08-07-2017 at 10:51 PM.

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Batroun For This Useful Post:

Agamemnon (08-07-2017),  Angoliga (08-08-2017),  Power77 (08-08-2017)

Gold Class Member
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Jewish & British
    Y-DNA (P)
    J1-Z18271
    mtDNA (M)
    J1c5
    Y-DNA (M)
    R1b-U152
    mtDNA (P)
    U7a5

Israel Israel Jerusalem United Kingdom England Scotland Isle of Man
    Quote Originally Posted by Batroun View Post
    My question however is if someone is assigned say J-m267( correct me if I am wrong is the typical Arabian peninsula marker), does that mean they are mostly of an Arab origin? What if on GedMatch the Red Sea/Arabia admixture is only 9%.