Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aberdeenshire - Irish?

Aberdeenshire - Irish?

Hi all,

I've Aberdeenshire in my results at a significant percentage, something which I've never heard of before. I checked on cautious mode, and see that it covers both Aberdeenshire AND Ireland. I can't confirm any Irish ancestry so far, but by using my logic and what I know of my ancestry currently, Irish seems like it's more likely than Scottish, though I could be wrong.

If my hunch is right, and it's Irish and not Scottish DNA, which as I've said is more likely in my opinion, why is it not just showing up as Ireland? I'm very, very confused. Does this mean it might actually be Scottish DNA instead? It's just that I can't vouch for it right now.

I'm a newbie to all this DNA research, but I feel like their cautious groupings are a bit bizarre. I know a singular 'Ireland' group exists, so why is there Irish grouped again under Aberdeenshire? Also noticed that Southern England and Southwest Scotland were in the same cautious grouping.

I just don't understand.

Thank you

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Nortunal For This Useful Post:

Amerijoe (08-15-2017),  Jessie (08-16-2017),  MacEochaidh (08-16-2017),  Robert1 (08-19-2017),  [email protected] (08-15-2017)

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Mostly Welsh,+ flags
    Nationality
    British
    Y-DNA (P)
    R1a- Z283 - Y128147
    mtDNA (M)
    J2a1a1a

Wales Scotland Ireland Cornwall United Kingdom
    Hi Nortunal, and welcome to the forum, all of our results are work in progress, there is a significant Irish dataset currently being completed, and will be fully intergrated into our results at an as yet unknown date, this might pull people who have real Irish heritage to give a higher % of Irish in their results, From what I understand it’s normally the SW Scotland then the NW Scotland that gets mistaken for Irish, so might be real, but wait for the update.
    Gedmatch
    Kit Num: M129412, QA3736362