Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DNA.Land vs. AncestryDNA - Huge differences (Known Ancestry: Armenian/Russian)

Sex
    Ethnicity
    Armenian, Russian
    Nationality
    American

Armenia Russian Federation United States of America

DNA.Land vs. AncestryDNA - Huge differences (Known Ancestry: Armenian/Russian)

Hello,

I am quite new to this, but I have developed an interest because of the cloud of mystery that hangs over my family's ancestry. My mother's known ancestry is Armenian (she claims distant Bulgarian), and my father is half Armenian/half Russian. Thus, the AncestryDNA results were not at all surprising, since the "Caucasus" and "Italy/Greece" classifications added up perfectly to 75%, leaving the other European influences to my 25% Russian ancestry. However, the results I got from DNA Land were very different! I'm not sure what to make of it. I will post my results below, and perhaps someone can help me make sense of it. Keep in mind, I am very new to this. Thanks!

AncestryDNA:
    Europe 38%
    Europe East 17%
    Italy/Greece 13%
    Low Confidence Region
    Europe West 5%
    Finland/Northwest Russia 3%
    West Asia 62%
    Caucasus 59%
    Low Confidence Region
    Middle East 3%

DNA Land:

West Eurasian 100%
    Central Indoeuropean 42%
    Includes: Abkhasian in Abkhazia/Georgia; Armenian in Armenia; Georgian/Megrels in Georgia; Iranian in Iran; Druze in (Carmel) Israel; Balkar, Chechen, Kumyk, Lezgin, North Ossetian and Adygei in (Caucasus and 5 other sites) Russia and Turkish in (Adana, Aydin, Balikesir, Istanbul, Kayseri, Trabzon and 1 other site) Turkey
    South/Central European 33%
    Includes: Italian/Bergamo, Italian/Tuscan and Toscani in (Bergamo, Tuscany and 1 other site) Italy
    Balkan 1%
    Includes: Albanian in Albania; Bulgarian in Bulgaria and Greek in (2 sites) Greece
    Northwest European 8.7%