Thread: Could you suggest some biology related topic for archaeology students

Sex
    Ethnicity
    Persian

Question Could you suggest some biology related topic for archaeology students

Hello

I studied anatomy and Genetics and recently I joined Culural Heritage Research Center in Iran to do some research.
    The research center organized a bio-archaeology workshop for archaeology students and they asked me to pick some topics and teach in the workshop.

I picked some yopic but I'm not sure what archaeology students study in the university and how strong is their background in biology.

Some of topics I have picked:

- The process of human body decomposition
    - Archeaeology of human remain {age/sex/race/stature/death-cause estimation}
    - Human evolution
    - Principle and method in human osteology
    - Extracting DNA from human skeleton
    - Analysing the ancient DNA

Could you please suggest me some interesting and useful biology related subject in archaeology and anthropology that could be useful and at the same time interesting and understandable for archaeology students...

Thanks in advance

P.s. I also have a biodeterioration lab that we mostly work on fungi and insects found in heritage sites...any topic relating to these also could be helpful...
    Last edited by mtajvidi; 09-16-2017 at 07:33 AM.

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mtajvidi For This Useful Post:

A Norfolk L-M20 (09-25-2017),  AJL (09-25-2017),  MikeWhalen (09-22-2017),  palamede (09-16-2017),  Varun R (09-23-2017)

Legacy Account
    Sex
    Nationality
    British
    mtDNA (M)
    H

United Kingdom
    I think that all of these topics are good choices. You might consider the things that ancient DNA can tell archaeologists, which they find it useful to know. It has been used to: