Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone else belong to my subclade?

Sex
    Ethnicity
    English
    Nationality
    British
    mtDNA (M)
    I subclade I2a

Anyone else belong to my subclade?

Hello! I'm new to Anthrogenica and have a relatively new interest in DNA. I have had a Living DNA test recently. Does anyone else belong to subclade I2a?

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gwendraith For This Useful Post:

[email protected] (10-22-2017),  Táltos (12-10-2017)

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    English, Irish, German
    Nationality
    US
    Y-DNA (P)
    L21>L226>FGC5639

England Germany Netherlands France Ireland Switzerland
    Quote Originally Posted by gwendraith View Post
    Hello! I'm new to Anthrogenica and have a relatively new interest in DNA. I have had a Living DNA test recently. Does anyone else belong to subclade I2a?
    Assuming that Living DNA maps to the ISOGG haplotree - I2a is now called I-L460 (and several other names as well). This branch is 21,000 years old according to YFULL, so there are probably several thousand that match I2a tested at 67 markers. You really need to test 67 YSTR markers at FTDNA and look at the haplogroups of your closer matches. This test will get you down to the 1,000 to 5,000 year range and a gateway SNP pack test for I2 would get you down to even more recent times. The YDNA haplogroups reported by atDNA vednors (23andme, Ancestry.com, Nat Geo and Living DNA) are very minimal tests for YSNPs. There are now around 50,000 branches of mankind in haplotrees, Living DNA probably only tests 5,000 (most of these are very old branches which have minimal genealogical meaning). YFULL has around 20 screens of branches below I2a that you could belong to.