Thread: Origin of M33a2? Studying the patterns of ancient Judeo-Christian Community.

Registered Users
    Ethnicity
    Knanaya
    Nationality
    Indian
    Y-DNA (P)
    QM242
    mtDNA (M)
    M33a2

Origin of M33a2? Studying the patterns of ancient Judeo-Christian Community.

Hello,

I am a researcher from the United States studying the DNA patterns of the St. Thomas Christians of India and particularly a subgroup known as the Knanaya. The Knanaya are said to be the descendants of Judeo-Christian immigrants from the Middle East who came to India some time between 345-800 A.D, this is based on folk culture and ancient folk songs. They're culture does indeed show a high prevalence from Judaic, Syriac, and Hindu culture which is perhaps an indicator of their origins and even their centuries of living as a minority community in India. They follow East/West Syriac Christianity and have for the most part been endogamous historically and in the modern day. From results of Y-DNA patterns the Knanaya seem to be all over the place some being of the L haplogroup and others randomly spread out such as myself being from the Q haplogroup. However the most conclusive genetic clustering of the Knanaya seems to be they're MtDNA, so far according to a researcher on these forms 12/13 Knanaya MtDNA has resulted in specifically M33a2. Whats even more amazing is that my own MtDNA came out very specifically as M33a2. Does anyone know the origins for this specific maternal haplogroup or other groups who seem to have a link to this?

Thanks

My Results:

YDNA: QM242

MtDNA: M33a2
    HVR1 MATCHES

India
    Match total: 6
    Country Total: 793
    Percentage: 0.8%

Syrian Arab Republic:
    Match Total: 1
    Country total: 133
    Percentage: 0.8%

Italy
    Match Total: 1
    Country Total: 5081
    Percentage: < 0.1%

Mauritius
    Match total: 1
    Country Total: 4
    Percentage: N/A

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Thomas48 For This Useful Post: