Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Interpreting mtFull results - help!

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    British/German/Dalmatian
    Nationality
    American
    Y-DNA (P)
    I-M253
    mtDNA (M)
    K1a1b1a

United States of America United Kingdom Germany Croatia Split-Dalmatia

Interpreting mtFull results - help!

Just got my results in today. Took about 7 weeks. My maternal line is apparently Ashkenazi [k1a1b1a], though my research brick walls in 1800s Tennessee so that's a bit of a mystery. I am relatively new to genetic genealogy and I have no idea what any of these numbers mean. Please send me a private message or tell me what to post if you're willing to take a look - I'd really appreciate it.
    English, Scottish, German, Croatian (Dalmatian). Peripheral: Irish, Swiss, French Huguenot, Dutch.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    mixed European
    Nationality
    USA
    Y-DNA (P)
    Dad: R1b/L21/DF63
    mtDNA (M)
    K2b2
    Y-DNA (M)
    R1b-M269
    mtDNA (P)
    K2b1a1a

United States of America England Wales Sweden Germany
    Have you joined the K project yet? That's a good resource. Also, I assume you have lots of GD 0 matches (look at the ones for HVR1, HVR2, and coding region) -- that can be helpful. K1a1b1a is an interesting result given what your ancestry seems to be, but the early American "west," which would have included Tennessee had lots of Germans, many of whom were from the Rhineland. My own K2b2 gets lost in Kentucky (when it was part of Virginia), and I currently suspect it may have come from Germany -- I know the last known female ancestor married a German immigrant, anyway.