2.5% Neandertal 97.5%Frog
    Nationality
    English
    Y-DNA (P)
    R-L21 FGC5494 A1308
    mtDNA (M)
    K2a

A deeper think about beakers in Britain and R1b DNA "from the West"

Hi all. I am an amateur hobbyist and I am studying beakers, tumuli and Celtic fields in Southern England (particularly Wessex). I note that the recent 'deeper think about beakers' ranged far and wide but had limited discussion about archaeological evidence in the Isles and did not discuss if DNA evidence could support Barry Cunliffe's "Celtic from the West" hypothesis (unless I missed it). This is my first forum post and I have seen you prefer newbies to keep their initial posts and ideas brief. So my brief starting point for discussion is my hypothesis, based on posted L11* and P312* variance data and published archaeology papers, ........

that beaker type pots and people with P312 DNA were both "parachuted" in to Iberia / France by boat - from the Southern Baltic- via the Megalithic Superhighway (http://bronzeagecelt.info/megalithicsuperhighway.html).

I am interested to explore the recent suggestion of an L11 South Baltic Modal Haplotype . (Ballardgen - closed facebook group) and the possible origin / spread of P312 from that area. [ Also what might DF100 tell us when we have more information.]
    I am interested in your (collective) expert analysis of STR data for L11* and P312* (what are the differences between STRs and STR variance data for the southern Baltic and the Italian Alps). Could this data support L11/P312 via a Northern route and the Megalithic Superhighway or does it better support the recent speculation (e.g. by Alan) that P312 came to the west "through the Alps and Italy" (http://www.anthrogenica.com/showthre...d-genes/page22) .
    Net Down G5L a.k.a. Bobsky

Gold Class Member
    Sex
    Y-DNA (P)
    DF27, FGC15733
    mtDNA (M)
    T2f3