Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I half Polish, or half a more interesting Slavic mixture?

Sex
    Ethnicity
    Euro-Mutt
    Nationality
    American
    mtDNA (M)
    I1a1

Am I half Polish, or half a more interesting Slavic mixture?

The folks at the 23andMe subforum told me to crosspost this here, and so I'll do so!

-----

I've been trying to uncover the Slavic, maternal half of my roots. Previously, I was under the impression that I was half Polish, and that side of my family of origin was too, but after submitting my spit sample to 23andMe it's unclear just how much of my roots are actually Polish and how much is actually some other Slavic (or even potentially some other non-Slavic!) ethnic group that Poland went in and Polonized, since political borders have fluctuated rather vigorously in the regions from which I have records of known ancestors' birth/residence. I'm a PhD student in molecular bio with a specialty in computational genetics so I understand the limitations of this sort of testing very well and have read about the differences between 23andMe and GEDMatch's references and computation, but my specialty is decidedly not in human genetics or ancestral admixture.

---------------------

Genetic information: