Thread: Using DNA matches to trace traveller/gypsy roots?

Sex

Scotland Ireland England

Question Using DNA matches to trace traveller/gypsy roots?

Hi guys, i'm just looking for some advice regarding some results on Gedmatch.
    There are two traveller/gypsy surnames on my dad's side of the tree but I haven't been able to get very far back in tracing them as they are 6 generations back in my tree. I joined a Facebook group for the descendants of those two travelling families and I've just finished comparing my dad's DNA against theirs to see if there is any possible link.

on gedmatch genesis of the 38 descendants of the first family my dad matches 6 people at 7-8 cm and 20 people at between 4 and 6 cm.
    Of the twelve descendants of the second family my dad matches two at 8-10 cm and matches 8 people at between 4 and 6 cm.

I'm not very good with gedmatch, I have cognitive & vision problems that have made it difficult to learn beyond the basics so I'm not too sure how to interpret this. Was wondering how likely do you think it is that I have a connection with these families based on this data?

I'm thinking of hiring a professional genealogist to get past my brick wall but would like to try and get an idea of whether it's worth doing first.

Thank you!

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Mostly Irish/English
    Nationality
    English
    Y-DNA
    Possibly R1b
    mtDNA
    H1a3a1

England North of England Ireland Scotland Wales Romani Star of David
    I think it's very likely. It's said that anything 10cM+ is highly probable to be a legitimate match.