Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Jewish genealogy challenges and strategies

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    NW Europe+Ash/Seph Jewish

England Star of David Netherlands Turkey Denmark Germany

Jewish genealogy challenges and strategies

I thought it might be nice and - hopefully - helpful to start a relatively generic thread on challenges and strategies in Jewish genealogy. I'm relatively new to the subject, as I've only been actively researching my genealogy for the past two years. Although I've often been successful in tracing my non-Jewish paternal lines back several centuries, my quest to do the same with my Jewish lines has been (somewhat predictably) much less fruitful. Three of my maternal great-grandparents were born in the Russian Empire (present-day Ukraine) and one in Turkey. Amazingly to me, I've been able to find all of their parents' names and, in some cases, their grandparents' names, by digging in U.S. records. Unfortunately, my tree ends there. If there are records online, lack of cataloguing and my own lack of knowledge of the records' language of publication are significant obstacles.

I'd be very curious to know what challenges and successes others have faced in this area! Has anyone been able to trace their Jewish lines in Europe, North Africa or the Middle East beyond what immigration records show? Have you had to use knowledge of local languages? What kind of resources have you been able to tap into, online and offline?
    Paper trail:

Father = 50% English (early American settlers), 25% Dutch, 12.5% Danish, 8% German + some Irish, Scottish and French

Mother = 75% Ashkenazi Jewish (Russia/Ukraine) and 25% Sephardic (Turkey)

Gold Class Member
    Sex
    Nationality
    American
    Y-DNA
    R-DF27 Rox2
    mtDNA
    U5b3f

United States of America Norway Sweden Wales England Germany Bayern