Registered Users
    Sex
    mtDNA (M)
    J1c5a1
    Y-DNA (P)
    I-S17250

Origins of I2a1b

Hello there!

I am quite new to the genetics. As an I2a1b (I-S17250, according to LivingDNA) I am searching for infos of my Y-haplogroup. I've found an old article:
    http://originsdna.blogspot.com/2012/...-graffiti.html

What are your toughts on I2a1b? I've met lots of interesting ideas (Thracians, Dacians, Illyrians, Vandals, White Croats, and now Alans and Vandals, etc.), but I haven't got enough informations. What is you bet, where do we came from?

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Szigmund For This Useful Post:

mihaitzateo (07-30-2019)

Registered Users
    Sex
    mtDNA (M)
    J1c5a1
    Y-DNA (P)
    I-S17250

Oh, yes, and before I forget: I know about Cucuteni - Tyrpillia Culture, I'm interested what happened next with the haplogroup.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Albanian
    Nationality
    American
    mtDNA (M)
    H11a2*-146+
    Y-DNA (P)
    R1a>L1029>Y133383

Albania Kosovo Macedonia United States of America Sweden Greece
    Quote Originally Posted by Szigmund View Post
    Hello there!

I am quite new to the genetics. As an I2a1b (I-S17250, according to LivingDNA) I am searching for infos of my Y-haplogroup. I've found an old article:
    http://originsdna.blogspot.com/2012/...-graffiti.html

What are your toughts on I2a1b? I've met lots of interesting ideas (Thracians, Dacians, Illyrians, Vandals, White Croats, and now Alans and Vandals, etc.), but I haven't got enough informations. What is you bet, where do we came from?
    The overwhelming majority of modern I2a1b belongs under CTS10228. More specifically, almost all of it falls under I-Y3120 which has a TMRCA of 2200ypb. With the exception of I-Y18331(which currently only has Greeks/East European Jews), the entirety of I2a1b belongs to far younger clades. The majority of all I2a1b seems to be linked to the Slavic migrations.