Nationality
    USA
    mtDNA (M)
    K1a1
    Y-DNA (P)
    R-Y81507

Ireland France Hawaii United States of America

Question Need deeper (not basic) understand of snps

I have learned all the basics of yDNA, STRs and SNPs. I am working with a more experienced person on constructing a clan haplotree which begins at about 1160 using both STRs and SNPs. I always find myself at a disadvantage and want to come up to speed.

I am looking for sources (including technical papers, books, webpages) for understanding how SNPs/Haplogroups placed in ordered, how to understand the relative age of equivalent SNPs, the variations in the rate snp formation/mutation (causes/range), determining the significance of private SNPs, etc.

I don't need the shallows or kiddy pool. I have 2 Masters and read Supreme Court decisions for fun. On the other, I am not technically informed on the Next Gen processes and am more interested in the post-processing analysis. If I need to learn some of the processing steps to comprehend the answers to my questions, I'm not intimidated. I just don't want to waste my time on things I don't have to know.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Nationality
    USA
    Y-DNA (P)
    R1b-L21 L513*

United States of America Ireland Germany Belgium Wallonia
    It's hard to suggest exactly what you're looking for for two reasons - first because resources that bring people up to speed tend to be relatively basic, and second because you're covering a lot of ground - causes of mutations as well as how haplotrees are created, creating what Maurice Gleeson calls "mutation history trees" and how private SNPs are used etc.

I'll throw out a range of resources and hopefully others can add more.