Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Somebody has my DNA on GEDMatch?

Arrow Somebody has my DNA on GEDMatch?

hey all i am really new to all this DNA stuff.. and I really need some help but dont really know where to ask so i apologize if this is the wrong place. Anyways, recently, i uploaded my 23andme DNA raw data file to GEDmatch and this was the result:

I seem to have almost a perfect match with the sample at the top of the list and I dont know how it got there. (I dont really know much about matching DNA but from the little research I have done, it can only be my DNA or my parents)

I never gave out my DNA in any research situations and I dont have any twin siblings or anything. Nobody in my immediate family has also done any of these tests to my knowledge.

So I googled the email listed and I found these forums....do you guys know any way that my DNA could have gotten on there?

Is there any way I can get this person to remove sample from GEDmatch? (for privacy reasons) Will it be on other online DNA databases?

Thank you for all your help
    Last edited by Táltos; 08-06-2019 at 05:49 PM. Reason: removed potential compromising details

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    NW European
    Nationality
    American
    Y-DNA (P)
    R1b-Z295*
    mtDNA (M)
    U2e1j

I have no answer for you, but I suspect something may be wrong with the kit showing as a match to you. Running that kit through the DNA file diagnostic utility on gedmatch shows a warning at the bottom warning of potential problems processing the kit that does not appear with (what I assume is) your kit (based on the kit showing as a strong match to this one).

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Celto-Germanic
    Nationality
    English
    Y-DNA (P)
    Possibly R1b
    mtDNA (M)
    H1a3a1

England North of England Ireland Scotland Germany Romani Star of David