Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: High African-Arab component normal in Southwestern Europe?

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    N. Italian, Portuguese
    Nationality
    Brazilian

Brazil Italy Veneto Portugal Italy

High African-Arab component normal in Southwestern Europe?

Hello, everyone.

I'd like to request your take on my results. Please bear with my questions and possible "noobishnes", as I'm still a beginner in genetics. As most people, I've started learning about it because of genealogy, so my approach tends to be more traditional/modern migrations rather than biological/ancient peoples.

A little bit of my paper trail background: as a good Northern Paulista (Brazilian Southeast), I descend mostly from Sourthern Europeans: 8 of my great-grandparents were Italian (50%; 7 from Northern Italy, mostly Veneto, and 1 from Campania), 4 were Portuguese (25%), 2 were "Brazilian" (a mix of Portuguese and Natives; 12,5%), and 2 are still unknown - I'm just now beginning to uncover their roots.

I've only tested with FTDNA so far, and also used the raw data on MyHeritage and GEDmatch - I was willing to test it on EthnoGene and DNA.Land, too, but they seem to be having problemas. I'm also going to test with other companies in the near future, but please consider these current results.

FTDNA:

FTDNA.PNG

MyHeritage:

MyHeritage.PNG

Eurogenes K13:

Eurogenes K13.PNG

Eurogenes K15:

Eurogenes K15.PNG

FTDNA was a bit off the mark with my European map, because it completely ignored my Iberian background, but the others seem okay. My big question, though, is regarding the non-European admixture.

When I first got the results, I didn't think much of it, because I was expecting some Levantine/North African percentage due to the Moorish presence in Portugal. But I've noticed here and there in the forums that Portuguese people seem to get a much lower portion from these regions (- I've seen 4 ou 5% being mentioned).