Thread: How do you deal with eigenstrat files

How do you deal with eigenstrat files

Hi,

I am new to this stuff and have managed to get Admixtools running and can do the examples.

However, I am not sure how I am supposed to deal with the data in the source files, because they are quite large and also I am running on a cloud VM.

1. How do you get the population names from the files that you are interested in. Do you just open the files and look at the values in the column, because the files are quite large.
    2. Does Admixtools run on individuals or on populations (default). How do you specify it to run on individuals, if possible?
    3. How do you run calcs on different datasets. Do you just merge the data into one big dataset? I know admixr has a function for this.
    4. Does the size of the dataset affect performance. If so, do you try and keep it as small as possible?
    Last edited by beyondAtheism; 05-14-2020 at 05:46 PM.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Omitted

What VM and distribution are you using?

ubuntu 18.04 on an Azure VM, Standard D2s v3 (2 vcpus, 8 GiB memory) (I think one of their standard/low end models).

I'm getting the hang of it kind of. Just making a note of all the populations I am interested in by grepping the ind file. I'll then have the names to use in R. Currently have an issue getting modern populations (North Indian), I am using the combined dataset from Reichs page with the HO array, but I am not sure what populations are in that HO array.

Registered Users
    Sex
    Omitted

1. The .ind file is basically your list of samples. Change the population names in the last column to suit your needs.
    2. Populations by default. The only way I know to run on individuals is change the name of the individuals in the .ind file.
    3. Yep, I use plink, never tried admixr.