Thread: Confused new member

Sex

Post Confused new member

My brother has had his deep DNA test done with Britains DNA as our family tree has been traced back to 1549 in Somerset, England, and I'm interested to find out where we were before then,and where we came from. All is ok until we get to R1b-S21 with the next step as S263.
    There is then a note saying our subtype S263 without the downstream S264, S29, S170, S268 or S266 is somewhat rare.
    They also give you a phylogenetic tree so we can see where we fit in with everybody else but sure enough, after the S263 branch, none of the numbers match up with my families.
    I now have no idea where we fit in apart from the fact that we are Germanic.
    I know this probably sounds stupid but I'm totally new to this. Did the people bearing the S263 gene change to different gene numbers while they were on the continent, or after they arrived in Britain. The phylogenic tree gives no idea of time.
    Why does nothing after S263 appear? The next number on our signature is S26903+. I can send the whole signature if it would help.
    Does anybody else have the same problem and is there anywhere where we can compare to find other people from our tribes,so to speak.

Sex
    Y-DNA (P)
    R1b-CTS4299+
    mtDNA (M)
    H2a2a1

Quote Originally Posted by Pennybeel View Post
    My brother has had his deep DNA test done with Britains DNA as our family tree has been traced back to 1549 in Somerset, England, and I'm interested to find out where we were before then,and where we came from. All is ok until we get to R1b-S21 with the next step as S263.
    There is then a note saying our subtype S263 without the downstream S264, S29, S170, S268 or S266 is somewhat rare.
    They also give you a phylogenetic tree so we can see where we fit in with everybody else but sure enough, after the S263 branch, none of the numbers match up with my families.
    I now have no idea where we fit in apart from the fact that we are Germanic.