Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: J1-F3547 ... How to research gap -8500 BP to 1500s?

Sex
    Ethnicity
    Caucasian
    Nationality
    USA
    Y-DNA (P)
    J1-F3547
    mtDNA (M)
    J1b1a

United States of America Germany

J1-F3547 ... How to research gap -8500 BP to 1500s?

I have recently received (FTDNA Y-111 and Big-Y) results that put me in haplogroup J1-F3547. As best I can tell this follows the tree M267 > F4306 > F1614 > F3547, but I am not a genetics expert and have found this sequence on several published trees. My understanding is that F3547 may have originated in the Caucasus/Anatolia region around 8500 years ago, and we have traced our paternal line back farily completely to a Jorg May who was born in Gelnhausen, Germany in 1520 (and died there in 1611). What is the best approach to try and fill in this large gap in time as far as migration paths?

I can find only 2 other FTDNA kits with J1-F3547 (am trying to contact them but without success so far in finding who they are), and it may simply be the case that filling in this gap is hopeless at present due to lack of sufficient number of available tests. But is there some kind of research I can do with my results (SNP and STR values) to try and find out more information on the migration paths taken between 8500 years ago and the early 1500s? How does one go about getting information like this? Are there organizations who can be paid to do this kind of research (I do have Yfull looking at my BAM file, but I don't know what comes of that). Does anyone here know more about haplogroup J1-F3547?

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RmayNV For This Useful Post:

Agamemnon (06-05-2016),  RCO (06-05-2016)

Gold Class Member
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Jewish & British
    Y-DNA (P)
    J1-Z18271
    mtDNA (M)
    J1c5
    Y-DNA (M)
    R1b-U152
    mtDNA (P)
    U7a5

Israel Israel Jerusalem United Kingdom England Scotland Isle of Man