Thread: H-T195C!-T146C! - What?

Registered Users
    Sex

Question H-T195C!-T146C! - What?

Hello Community.

I got my mtDNA results from Geno 2.0 and My Family Tree DNA.

It says that my maternal haplogroup is H-T195C!-T146C!. It is a subclade of H10b, I guess.

Can somebody explain to me if we already know where and when this mutation arised in europe?

Thank you a lot,

Maximilian

Registered Users
    Sex
    Omitted
    mtDNA (M)
    U5a2a1

Geno 2.0 does not test the full mtDNA genome so the results might not be as specific as possible. Did you also test the full mtDNA genome at FTDNA?

Registered Users
    Sex

No, I just had the basis test.

But it looks very specific, less than 0.1% of all participants have the so called haplogroup H-T195C!-T146C!.

My problem is that I am a beginner at genetical research - I can't interpret the result...

Registered Users
    Sex
    Nationality
    USA
    Y-DNA (P)
    I-FT248579
    mtDNA (M)
    H5

United States of America Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
    No, I just had the basis test.

But it looks very specific, less than 0.1% of all participants have the so called haplogroup H-T195C!-T146C!.

My problem is that I am a beginner at genetical research - I can't interpret the result...
    Is the mtDNA testing the only DNA testing which you have done? In my opinion, mtDNA is the most difficult type of DNA to understand the results of, and many think that it usually provides the least amount of useful information Is you maternal line the question which you are most interested in solving?

Thanks,

Jack

5. The Following User Says Thank You to C J Wyatt III For This Useful Post:

Maximilian (10-10-2016)

Registered Users
    Sex

Thank you for your reply!

No, I took the Geno 2.0 "package", it "is specifically designed for anthropological testing and includes SNPs from autosomal DNA, X-chromosome DNA, Y-chromosome DNA and mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA)." (Wikipedia)